Ashley Morrison's Blog

October 19, 2013

The head or the heart…

Filed under: Travel,Work Rest & Play. — Ashley Morrison @ 5:03 pm
Tags: , , , ,

.. are often the two main things that it comes down, when making a buying decision.

The head is the logical stuff which one’s accountant will talk about.

The heart … well it’s often not logically at all, but it’s like the stuff that dreams are made of – which in my line of work, is often what it’s all about – as they do say: “Image is (almost) everything”.

And so for me over the past weeks, I tried to let both have their say – but when I saw this…
Black 2002 Land Rover Discovery TD5 ES Auto
.. the heart won hands down smile

Still, there was some logic behind my decision, as I know quite a bit about these wagons now – having owned one and having had to do a lot of work to it, over the past 3 years.

So I asked all the questions about what had been done to this one – going through the full list of things that I had to do to mine – and naturally had a real good look at the chassis too.

“Better the devil you know than the one you don’t” they say – so here it is…
Black 2002 Land Rover Discovery Td5 ES Auto with black leather interior.
.. a top of the range model this time – which has been fully kitted with just about everything Land Rover could offer at the time:

Black Leather interior.
Electric seats, windows, twin sunroof & door mirrors.
Heated front seats.
Reserve parking sensors.
Centre diff lock.
Traction Control.
Active Cornering Enhancement.
Harmon Kardon amplified audio system.
Automatic.
Cruise control.
Drivers & passenger airbags.
Anti-lock braking system.
Traction control.
Remote central locking.
Alarm + Immobiliser.
Dual zone climate control.
18 inch alloys.
Front fog lights.
Headlight washers.
Heated windscreen.
Rear step.
Side steps.
Extended roof rails …

… and most importantly of all, it’s been Waxoyled underneath…
Waxoyled underneath the Black 2002 Land Rover Discovery TD5 ES Auto.
.. which the previous owner didn’t seem to be aware off – nor to the fact that it had had a spring conversion done too – which was one of the first things I did with my last one, as I got tired of sitting at the side of the roads, waiting for the air suspension system to sort itself out.

Oh I could write a book about all the problems and things I had to do to my last one – but it’s like none of that really mattered – because I just loved it so much.

This one is however slightly different – in that it’s much smoother and less Defender like to drive, for some strange reason – even though it’s basically the same wagon.

A ‘work horse’ that’s also a bit of ‘show horse’, is how I’d describe it.

Anyway, I managed to stay within my budget, which the head told me I had to do no matter what the heart said – and I think this is a pretty good one too for the price I paid. Time will tell of course – but for now this is the new wagon, which will hopefully transport me & the ampimage team safely, to some wonderfully places across Europe, over the years to come.

So there you have it – the headaches and the heartaches of my recent buying decision smile

Cheers,
Ashley.
www.ashleymorrison.com

7 Comments »

  1. Thanks Ian,
    My heart tends to rule my head most of the time – which is probably way I can’t afford to buy a new one!!
    But then that’s just me – living the dream most of the time, rather than living in the real world ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s the same thing when it comes to my work – I still use a Hasselbad system that’s now older than this wagon, which many would say is a dinosaur – but to me, it’s still one of the best tools for the job and a thing of beauty.

    A timeless classic – just like the images I try to produce, for others to use for years to come ๐Ÿ™‚

    And that’s what a Land Rover says to me too – there is just something classical and majestic about them – even the older ones.

    By the way, love what you are up to with yours & your wife’s Defenders – now those are classics for sure – so I’ll be reading more about what all you have done for sure – as that’s a great blog you have there – http://mud4fun.wordpress.com – for anyone who loves their Land Rover.

    Cheers,
    Ashley

    Comment by Ashley Morrison — October 20, 2013 @ 9:29 am | Reply

    • Thank you Ashley.

      I’m the same, heart rules the head too much. I’ve also tried to live a lifestyle from a romantic notion of the simpler life of the past. This is of course impossible to achieve these days so it becomes frustrating at times. Having said that, my wife and I have managed to raise our family in a solid fuelled cottage with very few modern conveniences, grow our own food and very soon our only vehicles will be a pair of 30 – 50 year old Land Rovers. ๐Ÿ™‚

      PS. The leaf sprung Land Rovers are generally known as ‘Series’, some would regard the term Defender as an insult when used to describe these old trucks ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think this is because the old leaf sprung trucks required almost superhuman levels of strength and stamina to drive, a defender by comparison is the height of comfort!

      Ian

      Comment by mud4fun — October 20, 2013 @ 12:05 pm | Reply

      • PS. My wife and I had a quick peek at your wifes blog and we really like the painted antique furniture, shame we can’t afford any ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

        We’ve not bought any furniture in 15 years. We still have a reproduction tudor style oak dining table and chairs, sideboard and cabinets that I bought when I was wealthy (pre- children ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and despite it being far too big for the little dining room in our cottage we stuck with it. It will be an antique itself at this rate by the time we finally agree on what we’d like to replace it with and have the money to do so…..mind you it wasn’t that hceap even for a reproduction item, costing more than a small car at the time and its quality shows as it looks as good as new despite being used daily by a large family.

        Comment by mud4fun — October 20, 2013 @ 12:24 pm

    • Didn’t know that about using the word ‘Defender’ – so I’ve just learned something new today ๐Ÿ™‚

      As for a ‘simpler life’ – I’ve spent most of my life working from inside a big old hen house, which I’m currently doing a lot of work to (and may write about someday) – but I’ve also been lucky enough to shoot some amazing places too, that I reckon you’d love – like this one in Italy: http://www.ampimage.com/amp-homes/20060517-Jordan/index.htm or this one: http://www.ampimage.com/amp-homes/20090926-Pianciano/index.htm or even this one near St Paul de Vence in France: http://www.ampimage.com/amp-homes/20101012-Hamilton/index.htm

      So you’re not alone in your dream – and by the sounds of it, your place sound great too – so may be we should be talking about a home shoot here – rather than about Land Rovers ๐Ÿ™‚

      Comment by Ashley Morrison — October 20, 2013 @ 3:54 pm | Reply

      • The Jordan shoot is my favourite ๐Ÿ™‚

        Haha, you’d have a job doing a shoot in our house as ten years of children running about the place have taken their toll on what was a beautiful renovation, you’d have to be a magician with the camera to make our place look as lovely as those in your photo shoots above! ๐Ÿ™‚

        BTW I looked at your wifes Kitchen on a budget earlier, almost my dream kitchen, give her my congratulations on a super job. If the cupboard doors were a slightly deeper green and you’d had an Aga/Rayburn in there it would have been my dream kitchen. Ours is not bad, we have the Rayburn and similar carcases and tops to yours but we are missing the ceramic or quarry tile floor which is what I hope to do soon. We opted for carpet tiles as they were softer for the kids to play on but once they’ve all fledged the nest I’m putting quarry tiles down ๐Ÿ™‚

        Comment by mud4fun — October 20, 2013 @ 4:26 pm

      • You may be in luck, because when it comes to this sort of thing, Marie is a magician (check-out the Before & After section on our website and you will see what I mean) – however, even though I thinks she’s magical, Marie isn’t my wife – and so even she couldn’t make my old kitchen look as good as the one you’re talking about ๐Ÿ™‚

        Remember, I’m the guy who just bought a 10 year Discovery, not a new Range Rover here ๐Ÿ™‚

        Comment by Ashley Morrison — October 20, 2013 @ 6:20 pm

  2. Congratulations on your new purchase, it is a lovely looking vehicle and I’m glad the heart won! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by mud4fun — October 19, 2013 @ 5:09 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

